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Card Errata: 

 

Card #16 Clarification/Correction: Change text to read: Attacking  force hits on 6 only and demoralized 

Attacking  force cannot attack at all and must return to its previous space. 

Designer Notes: This was the original intent of the card but after careful examination, I determined that 

the old text could lead to misinterpretation. 

 

Counter Errata: 

 

Correction: The three Saxon Corps should be at reduced strength on their flip sides.  

 

 

Correction: The flip side of de Saxe should be a 1-4 not a 0-2. 

 

NOTE: Compass has professional stickers that are provided in the game box.  If not in the game box 

contact sales@compassgames.com  

 

Map Errata: 

 

Correction: Breslau was erroneously marked as a capital – Silesia has no capital.  

 

Correction: Regensburg vice Regensberg. 

 

Rules Errata: 

 

Designer’s Comment:  APW has a number of 0TR named leaders (not present in either NPWS! or NYW) 

and while the use of the TR is often discretionary, I believe there should be some penalty for a 0TR leader 

if he is on his own as a “hired gun”, with no home corps accompanying him. Accordingly, here is a 

clarification in regards to a 0TR named leader without a home corps: 

3.1 and 3.1.1 Clarification: A named leader with a 0TR not stacked with at least one home corps of their 

respective home power, has a -1 CR penalty when using his CR for any purpose. 

 

6.1.1 SPECIAL VICTORY POINTS, 3
rd

 Bullet Correction: Eliminate this bullet. 

 

7.2.1 Clarification: If Charles Albert dies in combat then 7.2.1 goes into effect on the turn following.  In 

addition, if captured, Option (b) must be put into effect or 7.2.1 goes into effect per above. 

Designer Notes: The first only makes sense since his death leaves the position of Holy Roman Emperor 

vacant and since it is an elective position, Austrian diplomacy just went into effect earlier than it did 

historically. Capture was a slightly different situation in that I deemed a refusal to pay the VPs as either 

death in captivity or capitulation to Austrian demands for abdication in exchange for his freedom. 

 

7.2.4 Correction: Genoa joins the Bourbons in 1745 not the Pragmatic Alliance. 

 

7.2.8 SPECIAL 1741 RULE Correction: Add the following as the last sentence of the special rule: 

“Hanoverian and Hessian units may not perform a campaign action as part of the Pragmatic Alliance’s 

first Action card.” 

 

7.2.9 Clarification: Silesia is Bourbon controlled at the start of the game. 
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7.2.9 para 1 Correction: Eliminate the second to the last sentence, i.e. the Alliance retains its VPs for any 

spaces in Silesia and/or Prussia that they controlled at the time Frederick leaves the war. (See the 6.1.1 

SPECIAL VICTORY POINTS correction above.) 

 

7.2.9 Paragraphs 1 and 2 Clarification: When Prussia leaves the war, removed corps maintain their status 

when they go into the Force Pool.  When Prussia reenters the war, all units in the Force Pool are brought 

on at the strength with which they remained in or entered into the Force Pool.  

 

7.2.9 Clarification: If Prussia leaves the war, any reinforcements and promotions occur on schedule but 

are placed in the Force Pool per 7.2.9 para 1.  

 

15.3.2 Correction: Leader Casualties. Change paragraph to read: After a battle has been resolved, both 

players roll two dice (adding the results together, with no modifications) for each of their own named 

leaders who were present at the battle. Minor leaders are never subject to leader casualty rolls. 

 

Clarification 17.1: NOTE: This means that an Austrian corps may be placed per 12.2.3 IF an LOC can be 

traced to this Home Space i.e.in this sense its functions as a capital. 

 

20.1.1 and 20.2.1 Correction: The Neapolitan units erroneously listed in 20.1.1 as appearing in their 

Home Space and the Force Pool should be listed in 20.2.1 as 1742 reinforcements instead. They should 

not appear anywhere until the 1742 Bourbon Reinforcement Phase. 

 

20.2 Clarification: Some corps are listed as initially being in the Force Pool in their reduced state.  

This has no effect game-wise; the strengths were listed for purely historical purposes. 

 

20.2.1 Clarification: In the unlikely event Orbetello is Pragmatic controlled when the 1742 Spanish 

reinforcements arrive, place a Bourbon control marker on Ortebello and move any Pragmatic forces in 

that space to a valid retreat space or they are eliminated per 15.4.4. 

 

Example of Play Errata: 

 

Page 27 1741 - ROUND 1 Correction: Add the word “eventually” between “to” and “avoid” in the second 

sentence; should read “…to eventually avoid the limited supply penalty…” 

 

Page 28 1741 -  ROUND  4 Correction: “Charles Albert has a TR of 0, which means he needs to roll a 5 

or higher to succeed”; he. needs a 6, not 5 or higher to succeed.  

 

Page 30 1742 – ROUND 1Correction: “The Pragmatic player uses a second MP to revert control of 

Breslau back to the Pragmatic side.” Note that this adds another VP for the Pragmatics, for a new total of 

14. 

 

Player’s Aid Chart Errata: 

 

Correction:  “Genzer” should be “Grenzer” 

 

19.0 Optional Rule 

 

The French Auxiliary Force in The Empire 
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Add to 17.2.1 Bavaria and the Empire: When Charles Albert dies, during that turn all spaces in Bavaria 

and the Empire become non-belligerent (friendly to both factions) for a limited period of time. This 

means that vacant spaces in those powers cannot be converted by any means, can be freely entered and 

passed through by either faction, and can be used as an LOC if not occupied by an enemy force.  Battle 

occurs normally if an occupied space is entered by an enemy force per 15.0 but fortress spaces are 

considered to be unfortified spaces for the period of non-belligerency.  

 

This period of non-belligerency is limited to a variable number of Action Rounds determined as follows: 

Prior to the beginning of the Campaign Phase the Pragmatic Alliance rolls a D6 half die roll (rounded up) 

and the result is the number of non-belligerent Action Rounds. At the end of the period of non-

belligerency, any space occupied by a faction’s force is marked with the appropriate control marker with 

no VP adjustment and the space returns to its normal state. 

 

Add to 6.1.1 Victory points (VPs) SPECIAL VICTORY POINTS: At the end of the Winter Quarters 

Phase of any turn in which Charles Albert is still in play, add +2VPs to the Pragmatic Faction if at least 3 

French corps do not occupy a space(s) in Bavaria or Austria (excluding the Austrian Milanese and 

Netherlands). 

Designer’s Note: This optional rule was inspired by Eric Williams who expressed concerns that the rules 

as currently written do not totally reflect the French rationale for placing an auxiliary army “under” 

Imperial (Bavarian) control. In addition, they may remedy the problem of French LOCs back to France 

during the interregnum following the death of Charles Albert. 

 

 

 


