Sunday, October 18, 2020
Blue Water Navy Addendum

RULE BOOK - RULE CHANGES or fixes

R#1 Page 29 17.14:

Should make it clear that NATO blue missiles fired from ships can only be fired via card play or in the Baltic Sea.
Add 'NATO Blue' to the 5th para so it reads:

"NATO Blue, White and red missiles".

Page 22, 16.4.3 - should likewise be altered to add blue missiles

R#2 17.2 Page 24:

First bullet, change the word 'Entering' to present within' and the word 'fighter' to 'air'

and 17.3 Page 24: Second bullet, change 'enters' to 'is present within' ;

enemy air always gets to try to shoot down MP before they roll to perform detection or ASW.
You may also want to add a note to the QRS.

R#3 Page 11, left hand column, bullet #3:
Add 'Bad weather applies if it is in the zone the submarine is moving INTO, not out of'
This is because the barriers are zone edges, so it was unclear where the weather had to be to have an effect

R#4 17.6 Page 24, Fighter vs Fighter process

The modifiers for light and heavy base damage have been missed off. They should be:
Base light damage or damaged carrier: -1 dice

Base heavy damage: =1 dice

As per the table on page 25.

This change also needs to be added to the quick reference sheets.

R#5 25.0 Page 37, Soviet Pre-Game Technical Theft.
Any tech bonus applies only to Soviets, not to Cubans, Libyans, etc. Just Soviets.

R#6 16.3.1 ‘On Patrol’ with Maritime Patrol units, Page 21.

Add a note at the end of the first paragraph "Enemy fighters present may intercept and resolve CAP before the MP
rolls"

This is the same intent as for item #2 - before MP use their on-patrol interception capability, they have to survive any
interceptors and CAP that may be around

R#7 Page 27:
All references to H torpedo should read T. The counter symbol was altered. T is the designation for super heavy
torpedo.

R#8 16.2.1 & 16.3.1 'on patrol' - interruption of movement should be allowed when an enemy unit moves into or
through a zone in which a unit which is on-patrol is operating, not from.

R#9 17.7.4 Fighter vs. Escorted Air Strike, pg 25

"A natural nine may also be allocated to a Strike unit if the strike

unit is bombing" - this has been missed off the QRS, add to the 'Attacks by Fighters (CAP & Interception)' sheet, in
the bottom right, 'Fighters vs. Fighters (and escorted air strikes)' table.

Under 'N10 (Defending Player) Step loss on Strike unit'

add "also N9 if strike is using bombs"

R#10 29.0, Soviet Optionals, pg39
Add to C3 centre: "Place the centre on the map in either of the Kola, Baltic or Black Sea Soviet facilities. It can be
attacked and destroyed which removes it, and it's rule, from the game."
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R#11 17.11, Submarine attacks on Task Forces, Pg27

Between rule 3) and 4) there should be an additional section:

"Any dice which roll a value high enough to cause a step loss to an escorting submarine within the TF may be
expended now to do so. The escort submarine receives saves as normal. Note that this happens before TF ASW is
calculated"

R#12 6.8 Hydrophone Barriers, Pg10

This sentence: "When an enemy submarine crosses a Hydrophone Barrier shown on the map along a zone’s border,
one ‘Fresh’ friendly unit"

Add after 'fresh' "or on-patrol"

R#13 Soviet card KGB ASSASSINATIONS
This card is used immediately when placed down on the table by the Soviet player.

R#14 17.5 Fighter vs Maritime Patrol, Pg 24
If MP going on patrol are attacked in air to air combat, the disruption effect is the same as if they were performing
ASW (return to base)

R#15 17.7.4 Fighter vs. Escorted Air Strike, pg 25

This should state that if all escorting fighters are shot down, 'spare' dice that could then hit the STK units can be used
for that.

The QRS is correct.

R#16 17.9 Anti-Submarine Warfare by Task Forces, pg 26
Ignore the ‘'fast' modifier for a task force choosing to roll its ASW dice instead of moving.
The QRS is correct.

R#17 16.4.1 Form a Task Force
When adding ships from a port to a task force already at sea, the task force loses its next chance to move.
You can use a spare 'formed TF' marker as an indicator for this.

R#18 6.10.4 Facility Damage, pg 12
Light damage returns all on patrol air units to the base - both interceptors and MP.
The QRS is correct.

RULE BOOK - Info only, not material changes
1#1 ORBAT page 44: There are 2 Echo Il white and 3 Echo Il Black - the numbers are the wrong way around.

1#2 ORBAT page 44: Lists 'TU-95 Badger D' but should be "Tu 16 Badger-D'.
1#3 Page 40: Typo (30.2) Replace 'Carriers' with 'Harriers'.
1#4 ORBAT Page 45: The Dutch P3 is actually an Atlantique, not a P3.

1#5 Page 23, 16.6. Formatting mistakeThere are 4 bullets but 5 para : 16.6.1-2-3-4-5
The 4th bullet should be : Return an "On Patrol" Air Unit to base.

1#6 Page 39 - reinforce Iceland - image mistake The F-15 pictured is not the right one, use either one of the
'Eagles' counters or the production F-15 with the yellow circle on it. Either is fine, so it's just whichever isn't in play.

SCENARIO BOOK
S#1 All references to Zagreb as the 'start' space for the army marker should read Ljubljana. The Soviets pushed a
few extra miles..

S#2 The Danish Strait mined marker should be used on the Danish Strait mining box, rather than a regular mined
counter
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S#3 The US submarine Thresher marked with no date appears in all scenarios based in Norfolk, USA rather than on
the turn track.

The Thresher marked 83-85 is the one which starts the campaign game on the turn track (apart from in the build-up
where both start in Norfolk).

S#4 The tanker in scenario 2 should be a TU-16 Strike.
One tanker in scenario 2a should be a TU-16 Strike.
You end up with 1 tanker, 1 TU-22 and 2 TU-16.

S#5 SCENARIO #6 ‘THE CAMPAIGN GAME', pg 15

NATO player section 1) - Please note that the breakdown submarines and breakdown ships are the same ships, this
means that you can have either the breakdown subs OR the full strength subs but not both and either US 4-6 OR US
13-17 on the map but not both. They are just operating in smaller formations which is what the breakdown counters
are representing.

S#6 Scenario #1 ‘The Boomer Bastion’ pg 2

Don't allow the Soviet player to return boomers to port in this scenario - they must stay at sea.
COUNTERS

Note that these have no in-game effect and are purely cosmetic.

C#1 'Ticonderoga' is misspelt.

C#2 'Su27 Fulcrum' should be 'Su27 Flanker'.

C#3 The rear side of French Foch, USSR CVs Baku, Minsk, and Kiev do not have the colored background behind
their name (to easily match up air units)

C#4 The rear side of the Spanish Agosta class submarine should have an explosion graphic but does not (the values
are correct)

C#5 Danish submarine Delfinen is misspelt

C#6 The small yellow circles with a number are optional units - the QRS counters key shows this but they are not
described in the first few pages of the rules. The rules for them are on pg 39 & 40 under production.

C#7 The three Backfires with the 'R' in a circle are the Soviet reserve units and can be brought into play via the use of
first strike points

MAP
M#1 The US Norfolk & Canadian Halifax facilities should have a port symbol within the blue facility box to make it
more obvious that they are combined facilities.

M#2 The To the Arctic' Arrow in the Labrador sea should be bi-directional.

M#3 NAS Sagonella (Sicily) should be adjacent to M5-6 but not to M3-4 (it should be drawn a little to the right). This
means that Sigonella CAP shouldn't be able to protect Toulon or La Spezia.

CLARIFICATIONS
CL#1 Med convoys have to go to the Med convoy ports.
Non-Med convoys have to go to the Northern convoy ports.
Supplies are placed onto the relevant track where they are delivered - For example: supplies delivered by a Med
convoy into a Med port go onto the Southern war track.
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CL#2 Denmark is overflown when moving from zone North 1-2 to zone North 3-4 (from the Baltic to the North Sea)

CL#3 Northern France airfields are adjacent to: East 4 and North 3-4. In this case the position of the ports also
signifies adjacency - see 6.9.

CL#4 Soviet Card First Strike'- the number of FSP collected is calculated by totaling (SSBN payload on station) + (#
SSBN steps under the arctic ice) ; 4-7 generates 1 FSP. 8+ generates 2 FSP.

CL#5 Amphib units can be removed when they have taken five hits because they are no longer worth anything if
landed.

CL#6 The Turkish airstrike card does not have the range to reach Sevastopol. This is more due to a design decision
than actual capability (I didn't want a 4ops event to be too potentially powerful).

CL#7 An amphib counter is removed from the map if it takes 5 hits or lands its troops at a landing site (or for NATO at

an appropriate port).
A convoy marker is removed from the map if it takes 10 hits or lands its supplies in a convoy port.

CL#8 "If Kiel and Schleswig are occupied by the Soviets, can NATO still attempt to deliver troops to Denmark?"
Yes
Please assume that :

A) There is always Esbjerg left, and that it has the same hits as it had previously - in effect it becomes its own facility
able to be attacked and so on and Kiel/Schleswig likewise become their own facility.

B) Esbjerg has the damage, mined, etc. status it had immediately before Kiel is captured
CL#9 Hydrophone reaction cannot be used by Task Forces (they are in any case not allowed to be marked 'spent')

CL#10 Soviet card 'Strike UK Early Warning' - the new targets go into the UK airfield box, and fly to that location to hit
them (for adjacency purposes etc)

CL#11 In all scenarios where not mentioned, the interceptor level for Denmark and Turkey is three (it is possible to fly
over these areas)

CL#12 NATO Card 'Distant Support' treat the F-14 as CAP.
CL#13 When attacking ground targets, you must allocate your targets before rolling the dice to determine effect.

CL#14 Ships and Task Forces do not have a fresh/spent/On Patrol status. A task force cannot be on patrol, so a task
force can never be used either with the hydrophone rule or with the on patrol rule.

CL#15 Fast Task forces which could move as part of the fast event but which do not move are not subject to a
RORSAT detection.

CL#16 Cuba *I1S* effected by the one-island zone rule (6.12).

CL#17 17.3 "Carrier based fighters defend every Task Force in the Sea Zone and every land facility adjacent to the
zone (the carrier does not have to be a target)."

This *should* state that the carrier can only ever take part if the strike attacks from the zone containing the carrier.
Carriers defend adjacent land targets IF the strike is in THEIR zone when attacking.

CL #18
A FTR on intercept in a zone will intercept enemy STK moving into that zone.
Any FTR friendly to the STK unit entering do not take part and have no effect on this interaction.



