Battle Hymn Volume 1: Gettysburg & Pea Ridge Errata and Clarifications as of 4/29/19

ERRATA

Pea Ridge Campaign Setup: the two CSA units setting up
in the woods should be moved down one hex to be on the
road

Pea Ridge Victory/Control Marker should be 1515, not
1514

Gettysburg: Anderson's CSA division, Lane's artillery
should enter on Turn 8

Pickett's Charge Setup: Carroll in 1710 & Schmilfng is
correct at 1608

Special Rules Book page 22: 19. Game Terms states
"Morale" 1-5 PASS, 6-10 FAIL. Should be reversed, 1-5 =
Fail, 6-10 = Pass. It is correct on the chart card.

The 2nd example on page 10 of the Standard Rules has
the Iron Brigade's MR at +3 when it is clearly +2. Thus, the
final die roll should be "8" rather than "9".

CLARIFICATIONS
Engagements and Advance after Combat:

1. The "attackers" in an Engagement are fixed, new
ones are not added.

2. This is true even when an attacker advances into
the ZOC of an enemy unit and that unit has other
friendly units adjacent that are not in the current
Engagement. Those don't join! Otherwise, an
advance would enable Engagements to meld
together and it would be a mess.

3. That said, combat is combat, so the unit the
Attacker advanced next to DOES get to fire, must
fire in fact, at units of the Engagement that are now
adjacent. Since by 2. above, friendly units in the
other Engagement do not join, they do not fire.
They do however "mask" the fire of units they are
adjacent to. Example: Two Engagements, A and B.
Unit A-1 advances next to enemy X-1 which has 4
SPs and which is adjacent to friendly unit B-1.
During combat, A-1 fires at X-1, X-1 fires at A-1, but
with only two SPS because the other two are
masked by B-1.

Cavalry SPs with horses reduce the strength of a unit,
pushing it closer to shattering. Once shattered the on-
map SP just stays there. It could be recovered if the unit
returns to play and moves to the horses and reabsorbs the
unit.

Cavalry units with one or two SPs do not generate a
horse holder because fractions are rounded down always
(11.3).

When a horse holder SP is eliminated that loss is a
loss to the unit, not two losses. For instance, the 9th
Texas dismounts and its strength is reduced to 3 with 1SP
as a horse holder. If the horse holder is eliminated, the
reduction to 3 is permanent, i.e. a 1 SP loss. See the
above clarification re fractions, so the elimination of a
horse unit without a horse holder does not affect the unit
to which it belongs.

IMPORTANT: Approach Fire markers carry over
between hours/turns, except for Night hours, they are
removed then.

Pea Ridge artillery in 0921 and 1020 are setup
correctly, but they must move into lightwoods when they
move as they are not allowed to move into forest hexes.

The dotted outlines along the edges of some hexes
indicate that those are higher elevation. For example, in
Pea Ridge, the two hexes labeled Welfley’s Knoll are level
two hexes.

The Starting VP tables for scenarios list the starting
losses and demoralizations for each side. When you
count for victory after the game, those are not included
because they happened before the scenario began. So
subtract them from the final total to get the VPs scored
during play.

There are no USA control markers in Pea Ridge. USA
control is indicated by removing the CSA control marker.

There are no engagement markers (section 6.1.6 is
wrong) as playtesters did not find them helpful and the
reference here was missed.

IMPORTANT: Movement along a Road, Minor Road, or
Rail Road negates the cost of both hex and hexside
terrain, with the exception of fords. For instance, in Pea
Ridge, the cost to cross the creek along hexside
3103/3203 is 2 MPs, 1 for the Road and +1 for the Ford.




