Bismarck

The Last Battle
Official Clarifications 3/29/24

e Page 6 of the rulebook specifies that the
side with initiative fires first. These attacks
are fully resolved before the other side fires.
There is no simultaneous combat.

e Event cards do count as an “enemy card”
drawn. If only Event cards are drawn in a
given Contact, no Battle occurs and you may
proceed to the Repair segment.

e Bismarck and Prinz Eugen may use a card
damage bonus even if their attack roll
resulted in a “Miss” or inflicted only a “Fire”
result. (Remember: Only one card or medal
bonus can be used per round of combat.)

e Ifa Card Bonus references a specific
weapon (Flak Guns, Main Guns, etc.), it can
only be applied to attacks with that weapon.
If the Card Bonus does not specify a weapon
type, it can be used with Flak or Main Gun
attacks. No DRMs may be applied to
Torpedo Attacks. Each card bonus affects
a single die roll of your choice, within the
abovementioned restrictions.

e Repair Bonuses are used only in the Repair
Phase.

e Regarding the special note on page 8, “If the
Aircraft Draw Deck is depleted when a CV
enters play, the player is considered to have
eliminated the CV’s aircraft”: In this rare
case, the player would receive VPs for the
CV and these eliminated aircraft.

e The player does not automatically lose if
they fail to reach Brest or break out into
the Atlantic. While achieving these goals
will grant the player significant VPs, it is
still possible to reach the thresholds listed
in the Victory Level table through other
means.

e (larifying Torpedo Attack Procedures vs.
British Targets & Bismarck/PE:
o Torpedo attacks against British
Targets:
1.) Roll for a miss or hit on the
Torpedo Combat Result Table.
2.) Roll for the amount of
damage inflicted on the lower
table of the Torpedo Combat
Result Table.
o Torpedo attacks against
Bismarck/Prinz Eugen:
1.) Roll for a miss or hit on the
Torpedo Combat Result Table.
2.) Roll on the Damage Location
table to determine the
damage result. Fire results
are applied to the location
listed, so all Torpedo Fire
results are applied to the Hull.

New Optional Rules:

Bridge Damage Effects: All Repair rolls receive a
-1 DRM if ship’s Bridge is damaged. If the Bridge is
destroyed, there is a permanent -2 DRM for all
Repair rolls.

Extreme Storms: Players may choose to move an
additional 1 hex in Storm weather, but must then
roll on the Damage Location Table once for each
ship to apply 1 damage point.

Limited Torpedoes: With this optional rule, enemy
aircraft are carrying only 1 Torpedo. After

firing /releasing their Torpedo, they must be
removed from the map. If they are shot down, they
must be removed from the game. If they are intact
or damaged, they must be transferred to the next
Contact deck. (if in 26™, then place on 27 cards
deck and shuffle).



