Brothers at War
11/14/2022
Clarifications/Errata

This document includes a list of my answers to players’ questions, as well as additions, clarifications
and changes to the material provided in the 1862 box. The only real rules change is to road
movement. [ certainly didn’t imagine the road movement rules being where issues would happen!
Who worries about road movement rules? But, players had enough questions that, both in terms of
game play and historical accuracy, I felt the rule needed to be altered (see 5.211 and 5.212 below).

RULE BOOK

2.32 Clean Up Step

The actions in the clean-up step (a,b,c and d) do not
represent a sequence. .. they are resolved in any
order. For example, if a brigade is both exhausted
and inactive during the cleanup step, it gains a
reserve and becomes un-exhausted (c), so does not
place an activation marker in the exhausted brigades

box (b).

2.321 addition: “A Brigade which activated using a
Free Activation is not inactive (2.32c)”

2.35 clarification: Place reinforcements indicated in
the space above the Turn marker near their entry
hex(es) and add their activation markers to those
already in play. For example: during the
reinforcement step of Turn 2, reinforcements for
Turn 3 add their activation markers to the pool, and
the units are placed near their entry hexes

3.31 Addition: Ifevery space on the activation track
contains activation markers and the turn has not
ended, activation markers continue to be drawn, and
formations activated, until a second Countdown
marker has been drawn (ending the turn). Markers
drawn this way are not placed on the track and will
no longer trigger card draws or cause additional
countdown markers to be added to the opaque
container.

5.211 addition: Roads and Trails affect movement
costs only (not terrain restrictions or combat).
Formed Infantry and Deployed artillery ignore the
effects of Roads or Trails.

5.212 change: An infantry unit which is Formed at
any point during its activation does not benefit from
road march.

5.37 clarification: If a unit enters and does not
immediately exit (via assault or move action), a hex
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containing a disrupted or finished marker, it
becomes disrupted/finished and its activation ends.

5.38 addition: The defender chooses which unit to
eliminate.

5.42 (correction):
- long range: 2x printed range or less (-1 to hit)
- extreme range: 3x printed range or less (-1 to
hit and max 1 hit)

7.12 (addition): A Unit defending against an assault
may not retreat into the hex from which the
assaulting unit launched its assault.

9.15 change: A skirmisher may conduct point blank
fire at any enemy unit that performs a movement
action to enter a hex adjacent to it.

SCENARIOS

12.0 addition: * Add the activation markers of all
Turn 1 reinforcements to the cup.

14.12 Victory Conditions correction: hex number
1109 should read 1110.

14.22 Victory Conditions correction: hex number
1611 should read 1614.

14.4-5 clarification: the artillery unit “Bonder” refers
to Boundurant’s battery.

15.32 correction: remove “If there is no instant
victory by the end of the game, the CSA player
wins.”

16.011 clarification: When a card played by the
USA player affects a CSA brigade commander, the
player must choose one of the CSA brigade
commanders as its target (and vice versa when a



card played by the CSA player affects a USA
commander)

COMBAT RESOLUTION PLAYER AID

There were a number of anachronisms present on
combat resolution page of the player aid. Look for a
corrected combat resolution page to be posted along
with this document.

Point Blank Fire correction: replace “Enemy moves
from one hex adjacent to firing unit to another” with
“Trigger: enemy enters an adjacent hex, then
attempts to perform a move action.”

Assault correction: replace “Defending upslope +1
to Hit“ with “Assaulting upslope -1 to Hit”

Assault Correction . replace “Loser falls back 1 hex
“with “Loser must retreat”

SEQUENCE OF PLAY
2.34 and 2.35 correction: change 2.34 to “Advance
Turn Marker”, 2.35 to “Reinforcement Step”

PLAYER AID
Artillery Correction: replace “may deploy and fire
for 4 mp* with “may deploy for 2 MP (Finished)”

COUNTERS

The picture on the "Christ" Brigade Commander
counter is Crook. The picture on the "Crook"
counter is Christ.

The skirmish unit for Welsh’s brigade should read:
100th PA/A “Washington County”

100 PA/A




