Doomsday, Episode 1
Errata and Clarifications
As of July 1, 2021

Rules Clarifications:
General: A unit that is active becomes spent at the conclusion of its activation. Spent units can’t be
activated.

7.4.3 — Units that are under a combat chit may not be “in the Combat” of an adjacent combat hex (with
another combat chit).

7.7.4.1 — Must be able to legally enter the hex to be in the combat. Road Column units may not add
their size to adjacent combats.

7.7.9.3 — only the attacking player may press the attack. Defending units that lose a combat but have a
higher support value may not press the attack.

7.7.10 and 11.1/11.2: Units that are routed or disrupted from a combat are considered routed or
disrupted throughout the combat resolution that routed or disrupted them for purposes of the 7.7.10
table

7.8: Tanks suffering an auto loss from attacking into a city hex suffer their loss in the after combat loss
stage (per 7.8)

8.2.3: This section was addressed in the errata but might require additional clarification. Once a WP
unit enters a hex with an objective marker placed at the start of play, flip the Objective marker over to
reveal its value. If a unit of either side has a unit on the hex during the Victory Check Phase of the turn
and that unit has an LoC, the player with the unit in the hex claims the VPs and remove the marker
from the map.

10.2.3 Only undamaged airfields may be used to launch aircraft. Additionally, the air display and the
rules contradict on how many WP aircraft can fly per airfield — the display is correct. 3 WP planes can
fly per airfield.

10.4.4 Only NATO Aircraft (Recon or not) can perform reconnaissance missions.

13.2 A Unit that has 1 or more in size is also eliminated when they reach 0 size. If a 2 sized unit takes a
second loss, it is eliminated. If a 1 sized unit takes one loss, it is eliminated.

15.1.2 Reforger units that don’t arrive due to the Reforger Aircraft being damaged or shot down are
placed aside and may enter the next time Reforger Aircraft are available. You may bring in more than
one division with a single Reforger Aircraft.



15.2: Warsaw Pact Divisions in the Replacement box reappear on the map with one replacement point
spent with a -2 size marker.

16.0: Success and failure work the same here as with all other support value rolls. Roll the Support
value or less, you succeed, roll over the value, you fail the roll.

16.2: SSMs may only attack one target per SSM phase. An Airfield box is considered one target. Thus
the Pact may launch only one SSM attack against each of the NATO airfield boxes (once against the
West German Airfields, once against the U.K. airfields, and once against the France Airfields per SSM
attack phase.

17.0 Politics table; Warsaw Pact Victory Totals chart; 11-15 spread — 6 line — should be “Belgium”
stays in the war. Pretty obvious but there you go.

Back of the rulebook, Sequence of Play, End Phase; B 2) — this is an artifact. Both sides gain VPs and
don’t zero the lesser one. You only add the opponent’s VPs when you are at 0 and lose more.

Also, the rules say that leaders are replaced in the Reinforcement/Replacement Phase while the ExSoP
in the back of the book says the End Phase. The rules are correct.

Charts Additions/Corrections
On the NATO player aid, the French Transport and Engineer value is 6 and the VAB Support is 4; the
Netherlands Centurion value is 6.

On the Warsaw Pact Player aid, the Polish Transport value is 4.

TEC crossing Rivers doesn’t mention Engineer support.
On the Air Display, ignore the “D6” notation on Nuclear Attacks and Ground Support.

Scenario Corrections
Scenario updates:
e all Regts that set up at Soviet AFs should be elite.
e 15 NATO airfields is all you’ll need. There are 16 counters.

e There are some units that have two entries in the reinforcement schedule. In all cases, the
earlier entry is correct.

e Inscenario 2, the 7 TD listed is an East German unit.

e In Scenarios 3 and 5, on Day 5 — all of 1 Cav arrives (the entry is a bit jumbled) — Cdr/1 Cav, 1/1
Cav, 2/1 Cav, 3/1 Cav



e Scenario 3: the NORTHAG Commander isn’t listed, Bagnel should be there, and he is defensive.
e Scenario 3: 28 CAA arrival should be at 49.22

In the Comprehensive Example, a few boo-boos came up:

On pages 38 and 39, there are a few mistakes in the Determined Attack against the Marder in hex
32.08. The Size Modifier should be +3 (not +4) and the reduction of Artillery in a city is missing. The
Marder is also deployed in a city and should a modifier of +4 for its Marders. And the errata for
claiming Objective markers in the Victory Phase is in the errata — but it is missed here.

Questions and Answers
This is an unusual system. Here are a few questions that have been asked that might help better
understand how things work. Remember to read the example of play for a helpful guide to

understanding how the basics of this system work.

Q: 15.2 says replacements are received both in the Reinforcement/Replacement phase and
when activated. Which is it?

A: Both — it depends on the type of replacement. Size replacements are received during the
Reinforcement/Replacement Phase. Equipment replacements are received when the unit is
activated.

Q: May | stack both fresh and spent units in the same hex?

A: Yes, you may.

Q: When does the “auto-loss” for Tank attacking in a terrain that calls for an Auto-loss apply?

A: If you declare tank support for the attack, the auto-loss applies. This applies whether you
made the support role or not. Apply the loss in the After Combat Loss phase.

Counter Corrections

e West German 26 Lft is not part of the 2 PG and shouldn’t have a Division band
e West German Territorial 51 BDE should not have a Corps stripe
e French unit 42RdL/3 AD has incorrect equipment on its spent side. The front is correct.

We'll have corrected counters for all of these, plus the others we put in the box, in the upcoming
Balkans game.



