
Combat! - Errata and Q&A

Rule Book
Page 16 – Rule 10.09
"Place a Grenade Marker on the Enemy Character and a Grenade Target Marker on the 
closest Friendly Character within 3 hexes (chosen randomly if more than one)." 
It should say 4 hexes.

Rule 10.13 
#4 should read “The Character enters Rough terrain with a Sprint Order.”

Section 11 – Terrain – Page 17
Delete the sentence 
“Cover: LOS traced down a hexside between 2 hexes containing
LOS blocking terrain is considered blocked.”

Enemy Grenades should work the same as Friendly Grenades
- Change the 5th paragraph in rule 10.09 to:
“Roll 1D10. Add 3 to the result if the target hex is not in LOS of the
throwing Character. If the final result is 9 or more, the Grenade
will scatter 1 hex in a random direction. Roll 1D6 for direction and
place the Grenade Explosion Marker in the resulting hex. Then
make a roll against the thrower’s Grenade WS for each Character
in the hex with the grenade. Normal Order/Terrain modifiers
apply to this roll. A successful roll places a Grenade Near marker
on the Character. A failed roll places a Grenade Far Marker.”

Scenario Book
Introductory Scenario 1 – Special Rule 10 should say:
"During the Enemy Order Phase of Turn 1 only turn Enemy Order cards for their Initiative 
value. Roll 1D6 to determine the order for each Enemy character."

Introductory Scenario 1 – Special Rule 7 should say:
“Friendly Characters may set up in any hex located within the triangle formed by Hexes 18.14,
18.19, and 28.19.”

Introductory Scenario 1 – Special Rule 8 should say
“Place the Compass counter in hex 19.02 with “1” pointing to Hex 18.01.”

Missing - Scenario 2 – Special Rule should say
“Place the Compass counter in hex 02.03 with “1” pointing to Hex 02.04.”

Scenario 5 – Setup 03.14 is listed twice in both the initial setup and on turn 5.
Should the second one be 03.15?
The hexes should be 03.14 and 03.15 (not 03.14 twice)
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Friendly, Enemy and Neutral Board edges are not defined in the scenarios.

Intro Scenario 1: Enemy edge = 18.01 and 35.14 Inclusive 
Friendly edge = 18.14 and 35.19 inclusive 
Neutral edge = all other edges to the playable area other than those 
mentioned above

Intro scenario 2: Friendly = Left hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Right hand board edge

Intro scenario 3: Friendly = Left hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Right hand board edge

Intro scenario 4: Friendly = Right hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Left hand board edge

Scenario 1: Friendly = Left hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Right hand board edge

Scenario 2: Friendly = Right hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Left hand board edge

Scenario 3: Friendly = Left hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Right hand board edge

Scenario 4: Friendly = Left hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Right hand board edge

Scenario 5: Friendly = Right hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Left hand board edge

Scenario 6: Friendly = Left hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Right hand board edge

Scenario 7: Friendly = Right hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Left hand board edge

Scenario 8: Friendly = Left hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Right hand board edge

Scenario 9: Friendly = Left hand board edge
Neutral = Top and bottom 
Enemy = Right hand board edge

Scenario 10: Friendly = none
Neutral = Top and bottom 
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Enemy = Right and Left hand board edges

Displays
The Sequence of Play on the Player Aid, Step 5, does not list the "a) All Grenades now 
explode – perform Damage Rolls [see Rule 14.1]." step. Instead, it lists "b) Make a TQC for 
each Character with the Skill of MEDIC currently in a hex with a wounded Character [see 
Rule 7.14].", but it lists it as Step a).. The Player Aid Card for the Sequence of Play in the 
same step also leaves out what is identified in the rules as "e) Any Waiting Characters within 
3 hexes and LOS of an Alert Enemy Character are now Alerted. Place an Alert Marker on 
them." All rules in this step after both of these omissions on the PAC are identified with a 
different letter on the PAC than what is in the rules. As a result, when Rules are referenced 
elsewhere in the rules regarding the Step 5 End Phase, the rules referenced do not match up 
with the way things are listed on the PAC.
The rules are correct.

Both the Order/Terrain Chart and the Spotting Chart have "Berserk Charge" listed as a 
column heading, and no simple "Charge" listed.
I assume "Berserk Charge" is meant to be just "Charge", correct? 
You are correct. It should just really be Charge. 

Foxholes are not Rough Terrain

Clarifications
Rule 6 - Friendly Characters MAY fire, Enemy Characters MUST fire.

No rules are given for placing the Wind marker. Simply Roll 1D6, place the Wind marker in 
any convenient place on the map and face the wind arrow in the corresponding direction on 
the Directional Compass.

Bocage is listed on the Order/Terrain chart but is not shown in the rule book 
The option to use Bocage in scenarios 8,9 and 10 is missing. Bocage will take more 
prominence in the campaign rules in Combat!2. 

When the last card is drawn from the Enemy Card deck shuffle the
discards to form a new deck.

Streams are in the rules but do not appear on the charts on the large foldout play aid.
Streams are always in depressions. Always use that line on the player aid.

The rules say to check the scenario for the US hidden/spotted status, but I cannot find this 
information in the scenario book. 
The default is always Hidden. Future scenarios may specify otherwise.

I assume that hedgerow in the rules is the same as hedge on the charts. 
Correct
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Is there a stacking limit and does having multiple individuals in a hex affect combat?
No stacking Limit and no modification for multiple characters (pretty big hexes)

What are the 4 little directional markers for when there is one large one that is placed on the 
map?
Some scenarios (see Scenario 10) require more than 1 directional marker. 4 are 
provided so that scenario can be created where enemies are moving (generally) in 4 
directions.

I could not find in the scenarios where the squad 2 markers are used. I assume these are 
initiative markers.
The Squad 2 Initiative markers are there for future use - if 2 squads are in play -
or if you wish to use both squads in a homemade scenario

Bad Wound = No Sprint, Run & Gun or Evade (so Sneak Only)

Light Wound = No Sprint

Is a Friendly Character that was Wounded, but has successfully Received Medical Aid from a 
Friendly Character with the Medic Skill, still considered Wounded?
Meaning, does he still have the Movement Restrictions that an untreated, Wounded 
Character has, and still count as Wounded if the scenario has VP consequence for Wounded 
Friendly Soldiers?
Is a Friendly Character that was Wounded, but has successfully Received Medical Aid from a 
Friendly Character with the Medic Skill, still considered Wounded?
Meaning, does he still have the Movement Restrictions that an untreated, Wounded 
Character has, and still count as Wounded if the scenario has VP consequence for Wounded 
Friendly Soldiers?

Characters that are Badly wounded but treated may not sprint. Treated Light wounds 
have no penalty.
They do NOT count for VP consequences - another good reason to heal them.

Is the rout marker missing a red box?  Right now it looks like it says a unit loses all of its 
leadership (black box) and can't fire (red circle), but there is no effect on its troop quality.  If 
the box is missing, what number should it have?
No there is no modifier to TQ for Rout.

Does a routing enemy unit still makes checks after entering cover to see if it changes orders 
to Duck Back, per case 1 of 10.13?
Yes it does

If an Friendly Character enters a hex with an enemy character in a stat of waiting: The Enemy
Character is flipped (if necessary) and is now alerted. If the Enemy Character is Unprepared 
then the next time they activate they will not get to act.

Example – A Friendly Character enters a hex containing an Unprepared, Waiting Enemy 
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Character late on Impulse 1. The enemy is immediately flipped to reveal Soldat X and is now 
considered Alert. A Melee marker is placed in the hex. During Impulse 2 the Enemy Character
gets to activate first but will NOT act this Impulse as he was Unprepared. 

Officer: Lt. and Hptm
NCO: Obfr

If a Character has a Grenade Near or Grenade Far Marker on them and they leave the hex 
they currently occupy then remove the marker. 

An Enemy Character with Charge Order will ignore rule 9.4 (Entering Terrain)

A Berserk Character will not take prisoners. If the Berserk Character is alone with a 
Character, of the other side, who surrenders then they will kill them.

On impulse 2 my character with a sprint order has to move 2 spaces.
Can he move 1 hex into a hedge hex and then into an open hex? if so would he then have his
order changed to Duck Back.
or
Is he stopped in the hedge hex and then having his order changed to Duck Back.
I think its the first option based on rule 1.07
"Character with this order may enter Rough Terrain types but the Character MUST then Duck 
Back at the end of the Impulse." 
based on the part "Duck Back at the end of the impulse". 
He is stopped in the hedge hex and has his order changed to Duck Back.

Optional Rule
"If an Enemy Soldier is about to fire and his chance of hitting reduces his WS to below zero(0)
then he must first make a TQC. If he fails he will fire otherwise he does nothing"

For Rule 9.4 (Entering Terrain) the TQC is taken in Step 4 a) iii

Foxholes & Craters - are supposed to be treated like Depressions; that is, no LOS if the 
Character in the Foxhole or Crater has Sneak, Hide, Rally, or Reload Orders.

If firing on a hex that has more than 1 Character in it then the Character fired at is by random 
selection.

Rule 12 would pull from cup A and 13 from cup B?
Correct. 

If the Character places a Grenade marker 4 hexes and then opts not to move he takes a TQC to move
the Grenade Marker 1 hex closer. What is not stated is what happens if the roll is failed as the 
Grenade Marker would now be 4 hexes away.
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It should be that if you fail the TQC then you MUST move 1 hex closer to the Grenade Marker.

If a Character fails MC (due to Grenade Explosion) at the end of a Turn then they start the next 
turn with a Duck Back Order.

Enemy Characters - the Charge Check specifies Spotted Character but the Charge rule doesn't. - 
it should be the closest Spotted Character it charges. This may change during the Turn due to 
Friendly movement

An Enemy Character running out of ammo during a turn and with no other weapons (other than 
grenades) will automatically Duck Back at the end of the Impulse.


