
Fulda Gap Errata May 19, 2020 
Counter Errata 
A, B, C, D/12 (8th ID) and A, B, C, D/23 (3rd Armor) missing 
“ENG” and symbol.  All of these Units are Engineers and may 
perform Engineer functions. 
 
The Battalion leader for the West German 15PzB is missing.  
I’ll add it in the Berlin game when it’s ready. 
 
The leaders for 45GTR/79 GTD have incorrect ratings on the 
counters – they should be the same as all the other Soviet 
leaders.  I’ll have corrections for these in the Berlin game. 
 
79th GTD, no BRDMs should have ATGMs. 
 
WG engineers with Dragons – should be Milans. 
 
Charts and Tables 
Terrain Effects Chart: Steep Slope should have a Defensive 
Value of 0 (-2) – 0 for when not firing upslope, and -2 for 
when fire is upslope. 
 
Change the movement ability over streams from NP to +4 for 
wheeled and +2 for tracked if you’re in column.  It is still NP if 
you’re deployed. 
 
Division Displays do not have a box for your deleted ATGMs.  
Just use the Routed box for this. 
 
Fulda Gap Rulebook 
6.3 There’s a discrepancy with the TEC and the movement 
values for Marsh, Trails, and Streams in this section.  In all 
cases, the TEC is correct and the values in the rules are in 
error.   
 
“Trails” and Secondary Roads (Bundesstraben) are the same 
thing. 
 
7.1.3 Observation Example is to show how Ops work and 
assumes that all are at the same elevation.  Hex 26.34 can 
actually be seen since it is at a higher elevation than the other 
intervening terrain and the OP effect is not applicable in the 
case of this hex. 
 
8.3 should be titled “Fire Rating Modifiers” 
 
8.3.4 (Addition) – Leaders do not need to be deployed (since 
they can’t) to add as an additional unit in the hex.  In 
addition, they may add their +1 as another unit in the hex at 
any range. 
 
8.3.8 says you must use Chobham while 8.4.5 says you may 
choose to or not – 8.3.8 is correct.  You must use Chobham if 
the enemy gets a result on his fire. 
 
8.4.4 is in conflict with 10.1 – a second suppression result 
does eliminate a unit in Fulda Gap.   

 
8.5 Opportunity Fire Example – there is mention of a 
“Suppression” result.  As this is fire at a Hard Target, 
Suppression would not be possible – only a “Pin” result 
should be mentioned. 
 
7.1, 7.2 and 17.0 – I have changed the restrictions on the use 
of thermal imagers.  You may now gain the fire benefit (+1 to 
your direct fire value) at night, in the rain, and additionally if, 
at any time, you trace through a smoke/barrage marker. The 
Soviets never saw your shot coming. 
 
In addition, M-2s (Bradleys) also have Thermal Imagers. 
 
8.7 The Terrain Effects Chart is missing those “Catch Fire” 
numbers.  They are: 
 
Woods: 2 
Village: 2 
Town: 1 
City: 1 
 
9.1 Assault Example – the Assault is taking place over a 
stream. This is not legal as the assaulting units must be able 
to legally move into the assaulting hex to be able to assault.  
Ignore the stream for this example. 
 
9.5 Assault Modifiers – Units with Flamethrower ability 
should have the Flamethrower symbol on their front sides as 
well as their backs.  They are considered as having 
Flamethrower ability when in Column – they do get this 
modifier when assaulting. 
 
9.5 Assault Modifiers – Leaders do not count as Units for 
figuring out the odds of the assault 
 
12.1 and 12.2 Attaching and Detaching Support Weapons 
Whether attaching or detaching, you use a wheeled type of 
unit to trace to and from the Unit (rules say to detach using 
leg). 
 
12.3 – this is in error – you can attach as many Support 
Weapons as you’d like to a hex as long as there is at least one 
Unit in the hex.   

12.3 Also in that same section, it says “If you have more than 
one Support Weapon that may be added and they each change 
the fire type to something different, the attacking player may 
use both values to add to the fire strength – and choose which 
type of fire will be used in the upcoming fire.”  This is incorrect, 
you may never add more than one Support Weapon to any 
Unit performing Direct Fire. 

13.2 – you can’t use an ATGM to fire during the special ATGM 
Op Fire. 
 



13.2 – one shot of smoke cannisters and you’re out. Place a 
Smoke Cannister Out marker on the Unit after one use.  
Smoke from smoke Canisters are removed when the Wind 
Chit is pulled from The Cup. 
 
13.2 – Delete the provision against firing ATGMs over 
water…fire at will over water. 
 
14.2 Losing Leaders – addition: should a leader be assaulted 
and eliminated, the replacement leader is also eliminated. 
 
21.0 Downed Pilots rescue – Downed Pilots are rescued if the 
hex they are in is entered by a Friendly Unit or they exit the 
map. 
 
23.1 The. V Corps Chit that allows for 5 artillery shots is 
always added to The Cup when available. 
 
24.1 – if a player doesn’t have enough VPs to honor a VP 
deduction, the excess VPs are instead added to his 
opponent’s total.  
 
26.0 has its subsections mis-numbered as 27.1 and 27.2 – 
these should be 26.1 and 26.2 
 
27.3 – the first sentence is missing here.  You place a 
Chemical Attack marker in the same way you place smoke or 
a barrage.  You just place a Chemical Attack marker instead.  
If you roll a “9”, the marker is not placed. 
 
28.0 Politics Chit 
Change the die roll events to be: 
6-7 Soviet Nuclear Release 
8 Victory Check. 
 
In addition, should ceasefire be rolled, also remove all DGs, 
Pins, Suppressions, fires, barrages, smoke markers, and 
perform resupply (see roll 0-3 above).  Any reinforcements 
due to arrive throughout the missed turns are placed on their 
reinforcement hexes and may be activated when play 
resumes. 
 
29.6.2 SAM Suppression – each hit successfully rolled also 
reduces the SAM value by one for each hit. 
 
29.9 The helicopter rule obviously suffered from too much 
use of the alcohol rule when I wrote it.  Here is a correction 
for you for all Divisional helicopters (Corps/Army helicopters 
activate through the Air Support procedure): 
 
Off-board helicopters are treated like white striped units and 
activate when their division chit is pulled.  On-map 
helicopters activate like no-striped units and activate when 
any formation chit of their division is pulled. 
 
When you activate a helicopter, it may move an unlimited 
number of hexes, and then at any time, perform one fire 
action.  After completing the fire action, it then returns to its 

base (either on-map or off) by moving till it reaches either its 
on-map base or exits off the map edge. 
 
SAMs fire once at Helicopters either when they first enter the 
map or, if based on-map, when they activate. 
 
Helicopters may be Opportunity fired normally as they move 
and may be seen normally (as any ground moving unit) for 
Opportunity Fire.  When they perform a fire action, they can 
be seen in their hex regardless of LOS Blocking terrain.  Think 
of it “popping up” to take a shot. If the helicopter fires an 
ATGM, perform possible Op Fire as per the rules.  Otherwise, 
normal Op Fire is allowed as the Helicopter leaves the firing 
hex after firing – and then it resumes moving and can be seen 
as if it was a ground unit. 
 
Hellfire 
 
Helicopters attack normally and in the hex from which they 
fire, they can see over all blocking terrain in while in the hex 
from which they are attacking.  
 
Off-map helicopters leave the map on the same map edge 
they enter.  On-map helicopters return to their hex on which 
they are based. 
 
Helicopters may change from off-board to on-board and vice 
versa using one activation. 
 
Downed pilots scatter just like aircraft pilots.  Roll a D6 for 
direction and a D10 for distance in the hex in which the 
helicopter is shot down. 
 
Scenario Book 
Scenario 1: The Soviet Setup lists the Eng/243G twice.  Delete 
one of these and substitute the AT/243G in the setup. 
 
Scenario 3: The Cup: the 11th Cavalry Chit is not added to The 
Cup in this scenario. 
 
Scenario 3: the LDR 1Tk/247G should be setup in hex 10.08. 
 
Scenario 4 – the V Corps Chit is placed in the cup at the 1100 
turn (per the reinforcement schedule) 
 
Scenario 4 – the last sentence of the “Chits” section is a bit 
mangled.  It should just say “The Soviet player draws from 
The Cup to determine the first chit in play after the 11th Cav 
has completed all of his pre-game moves.” 
 
  



Questions and Answers 
Q: After the “free” 11th Cav chit comes out of the cup and is 
eligible for purchase, may I purchase it more than once? 
Nope – you may only purchase it once more. 
 
Q: X Weapon system wasn’t deployed until X date.  Why is it 
available for use on August 1, 1985? 
This game shares a coherent alternate future with my 
associated family of games called “The Doomsday Project”.  
In this alternate future, it is not assumed that all is exactly the 
same as reality until August 1, 1985 – in fact, things start 
changing years earlier in this reality.  With the rise in 
tensions, I have assumed acceleration of deployment of some 
weapons systems as might have happened in a world with 
increased tension.   
 
Q:  Some units are set up in the pictures in the scenario 
book illegally.  Like a tracked unit in column but in a city 
hex.  How are these to be setup? 
You may choose to set up in either mode (column or 
deployed) but the setup must be legal.  So a tracked unit 
would have to setup in Column in a city hex. 
 
Q: What’s the purpose of the wrench on the M88 unit? 
No game purpose is served by these symbols.  I reserve the 
right for more sophisticated optional engineer rules down the 
road.   
 
Q: Are Refugee markers moving in Column? 
Yes, they are always in column. 
 
Q: What can I see through with Observation Posts? 
You can see through all hexes that would normally block 
because of their terrain type (blocked LOS as listed on the 
TEC).  You still cannot see through LOS blocks as listed in case 
7.1.2 (as these are situational blocks that depend on each 
unit’s position). 
 
Q: Does the effect of a Barrage apply immediately?  Does 
the Barrage value changes impact on the result of the fire 
that created it? 
Yes, it does.   
 
Q: "You may strike the hex or a Hard Target with any type of 
fire you wish to use": 
1) Does this mean the Strike aircraft could choose 
between Small Arms, High Explosive, Armor Piercing, 
or Indirect Fire? 
 
Q: Do you subtract half the defense value only for Nuclear 
Attacks, or for any Ground Support attack? What if the Hard 
Target has a positive defense value, shouldn't that get 
doubled? 
You subtract half the defense value of a target in both 
Nuclear attacks and for Ground attacks.  Yes, double the 
defense value if the defense value is positive. 
 

Q: Do the West German Border markers stay in place 
throughout the scenario? 
Yes, they do.  The Soviet Player cannot eliminate these. 
 
Q: The rules specify the Soviet player can place a Refugee 
marker if a Soviet Unit is within 3-hexes of a Town/City hex. 
However, if a Soviet Unit is right on top of a Town hex, could 
he place a Refugee marker in the same hex as the Soviet 
Unit? The Refugee Elimination rules specify that if a Soviet 
Unit enters a hex with a Refugee that marker is removed 
(and gives VPs to NATO), however in the above case the 
Soviet didn't enter such a hex. In other words, is the mere 
presence of a Soviet Unit enough to eliminate a Refugee 
marker, or is it the act of entering such a hex required? 
You must enter the hex.  Refugee placement on a Soviet Unit 
is allowed. 
 
Q: If no Foxhole is present in a hex, would an Engineer Unit 
first have to spend an action building a Foxhole before 
building a Trench? Or could an Engineer build a Trench from 
scratch? 
Engineers can also build foxholes.  There must be a Foxhole in 
a hex to build a Trench. 

Q: Can Attached Formations detach and join another 
Formation? 
Nope.  Once attached, it stays attached. 
 
Q: When may I buy Chits and spend Dispatch and Direct 
Commands. 
You may spend Dispatch Points and Direct Commands from a 
division when any Units of that division are in play (being in 
reinforcement hexes counts, being in Off-Board boxes for 
Helicopters does not count). 


