Vietnam: Rumor of War
Errata as of October 1, 2019

Rulebook

Correction:

The sequence of play lists the supply status check as
step D. This is incorrect. The Supply Status check
occurs in step b (per rule 6.1i).

Addition:
4.2 Stacking — in addition to the stacking rules, there is
unlimited stacking in any Supply Source hex.

Addition:

7.1 —both sides may also pay 1 supply point to repair
one step from a damaged aircraft. Aircraft that have
been destroyed may not be rebuilt.

Correction:

7.1 —the entry for Hidden Tunnels (3™ one from the
bottom on the blue table) has a typo —ignore
“...Variable cost to perform an HQ mission”)

Correction:

The Sequence of Play is correct in order of the Air Game
resolution — AEW, followed by SAM Fire and then
Downtown resolution (this differs from 10.3)

Correction:

9.5 — for the Infiltrate mission, 10.1 is correct here — not
9.5. Airfields can be damaged ... if the Communist player
controls a hex adjacent to a Capitalist Supply Source or
Capitalist controlled city hex. You roll for airstrike if on
Infiltrate Mission.

Correction:

10.4.1 — when interdicting a Strategic Movement, you
roll a D10 against the Interdiction value of the aircraft.
If you roll equal to or less, the unit may not Strategic
Move. If you roll a D10, the aircraft is damaged. Any
other roll is no effect. You then roll to stay on station
with the interdicting aircraft.

Omission:

Only one aircraft may be used to attempt to interdict an
enemy per trigger. You need to wait till the next trigger
to attempt interdiction again. Each trigger would
require a new reconnaissance mission as well.

Correction:
14.1.2.2 — last paragraph should start with “Fire Bases”
—not Fire Zones

Correction:

14.1.3 —the rules for Amphibious movement changed
very late in the process and there are some
contradictions in the rules....rule 14.1.3 is the correct
rule for amphibious movement and takes precedence
over all other rules regarding amphibious movement.

12.2 Chinese Intervention

Second paragraph it says ... If there are any Capitalist
units in Laos (...), only non-Laoian Units apply here.

Addition:

14.2 Theater Commanders

If for any reason you cannot pay the cost for an HQ
mission, Westmoreland is immediately relieved and
Abrams is placed in command. Immediately add 15 US
Unrest points to the track and do not grant the 10 back
for Abrams being placed in command.

Addition:
14.4.2 Communist Line of Communication

PAVN HQs have a LOC if within 15 movement points to
any PAVN supply source, PRC Supply Source (if the PRC
have intervened) or any functioning Ho Chi Minh Trail
terminus.

VC HQs have a LOC if within 15 movement points to any
PAVN supply source, PRC Supply Source (if the PRC have
intervened), any functioning Ho Chi Minh Trail terminus
or any friendly controlled hex of War Zone C, D, Iron
Triangle or any friendly controlled Cultivated hex in
South Vietnam.

Pathet Lao HQs have a LOC if within 15 movement
points of a friendly controlled Pathet Lao supply source.

Khmer Rouge HQs have a LOC if within 15 movement
points of a friendly controlled Khmer Rouge supply
source.

Addition:

14.8 SOW Aircraft

POW Rescue is missing a “4” result — it is the same
result as 3 and 5.



P33 graphics:

It is of course the 173" Brigade (not Division) and
Cavalry is misspelled on the 1% Cav emblem.

Scenario Book

Scenario 2 has strategic air assets listed. You won't
need these in this scenario. Just ignore all the strategic
air assets in the scenario setup.

Scenario 3 and 4 should not have the Communist HQ
mission already chosen. You start the turn with the
beginning of the Sequence of Play and choose (and pay
for) whatever mission you want to be on that turn.

Scenario 3 and 4 should have the 7t" Fleet at Yankee
Station.

Scenario 3 Victory Conditions:
“Variable VPS for Body Count” is not formatted
correctly. This should not be bolded nor left justified.

It should look like this:

Additions/Subtractions to the US Military Victory
track:
+/- for Objective Markers gained or lost
Variable VPs for Body Count
-1 VP for each routed Capitalist HQ

Etc.

The automatic victory for hex 2970 should be for hex
3722.

Campaign Game victory conditions:
e Delete the +1 VP for Thunder Road being

Capitalist controlled in the “Awarded as they
occur” section (it is covered later).



